27 Comments

Traditional Media vs New Age Media

Traditional media:
Newspapers • Magazines • Television • Radio • Books • CDs • DVDs • A box of photos • Physical, paper mail and catalogs. • Yellow Pages.

Today’s New Age Media:
• Internet Radio • Website Advertising • Status updates • Wall Posts • Discussions • Blogs • Video • Audio

Networks are the drivers of the new age media. New age media is fluid and flexible, it is interactive. You walk a fine line between being the author and the audience, you provide active input and feedback to change stories, impact results, and make connections. Traditional media can’t be changed, it is static, and once it is printed unless a retraction comes out it is permanent. A newspaper can’t magically change its stories, even if society decides something in them is incorrect. A blog can be updated for all readers nearly instantly. Status updates change constantly; posts can be made at any time.

You can interact with posts, discussions, and blogs. You can leave a comment. Traditional media prohibits interaction. The most you can do is a letter to the editor and that may or may not be published but won’t change the story. You can get some sense of the popularity of your stuff in real time. How many comments does each post get? How many links does each post get? None of the traditional media have a clue about the popularity of any of the items until much later after best seller lists are published.

There are many opportunities for advertising. Many are low priced and on websites that have very little traffic. It might be affordable, however without the traffic to see the ad you are wasting your money. I have a website that gets over 7 million hits a month.
Think about traffic vs cheap when you want to promote your businss.

27 comments on “Traditional Media vs New Age Media

  1. Good day! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I
    am waiting for your further post thanks
    once again.

  3. hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining,
    but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could
    damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much
    more of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update this again soon.

  4. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  5. Thank you, I have just been looking for information
    about this topic for a long time and yours is the greatest
    I have found out so far. However, what in regards to the bottom line?

    Are you sure concerning the source?

  6. I appreciate your insight. It’s always good to come across a site like yours. Keep up the good work and I’ll be back. Later.

  7. Hi there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a honest price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  8. amazing posts . thumbs up, would like to read more of such articles.

  9. There is so much garbage out there about this; it makes it hard to sift through to find good information. Thank you for the clear perspective. Much appreciated.

  10. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or
    something. I think that you could do with a few
    pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful blog.
    A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  11. I needed to thank you for this wonderful read!! I absolutely loved every bit of it.
    I’ve got you saved as a favorite to look at new things you post…

  12. Unquestionably consider that that you said. Your favorite justification seemed to
    be at the web the easiest thing to take note of. I say to you,
    I certainly get annoyed while people consider concerns that they just don’t recognize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and also outlined out the entire thing without having side-effects , other folks can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  13. There is so much garbage out there about this; it makes it hard to sift through to find good information. Thank you for the clear perspective. Thanks. 🙂

  14. I have to get across my appreciation for your generosity giving support to individuals that really need guidance on this important area of interest. Your personal dedication to getting the solution up and down ended up being wonderfully beneficial and has permitted women like me to achieve their goals. The valuable information can mean much to me and additionally to my peers. With thanks; from all of us.

  15. I read a review the other day that was so biased, it was hard to read. But I think it’s important to hear both sides, which I think this post does. It’s a good read. Much appreciated.

  16. There are some interesting closing dates in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There may be some validity but I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as nicely

  17. I needed to post you this little word so as to give thanks again relating to the spectacular concepts you’ve shared in this case. It has been quite generous of people like you to give openly exactly what many people would have made available as an electronic book in order to make some money for themselves, even more so given that you might well have done it in the event you decided. Those tactics likewise served as the great way to know that other people online have the same eagerness really like mine to find out much more on the topic of this condition. I’m certain there are millions of more fun instances ahead for folks who scan your site.

  18. I read a review the other day that was so biased, it was hard to read. But I think it’s important to hear both sides, which I think this post does. It’s a good read. Much appreciated.

  19. Hey, thanks for accepting my comment and I appreciate your post, although I don’t agree with all of your points; however, I think we need more thoughts shared like yours. Thanks. 🙂

  20. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  21. I must show thanks to this writer for bailing me out of such a condition. After searching through the world wide web and coming across opinions which were not pleasant, I assumed my entire life was gone. Existing minus the approaches to the problems you’ve solved by way of your main post is a crucial case, and the ones that would have in a wrong way damaged my entire career if I hadn’t come across your website. Your main expertise and kindness in handling the whole lot was vital. I’m not sure what I would have done if I had not discovered such a point like this. I can also now relish my future. Thanks very much for this expert and sensible guide. I will not be reluctant to endorse your blog to any person who should have direction on this area.

  22. Hi. I wanted to thank you for the fantastic information you have posted on your site. I will definitelycome back to check it out once again and have subscribedto your RSS feed. Have a fantastic day.

  23. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thanks, However I am experiencing issues with your RSS.
    I don’t know why I am unable to join it. Is there anybody else getting the same RSS issues? Anyone who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  24. I have read so many content regarding the blogger lovers but this paragraph is really a pleasant piece of writing, keep it
    up.

  25. Hi there to every one, since I am actually keen
    of reading this blog’s post to be updated on a regular basis.
    It contains good information.

  26. Hello this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.

    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so
    I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be
    enormously appreciated!

Leave a Reply

becampingonline

the place for all things on the road!

My IDLife Journey

Designing My Life on My Terms

ThatInterviewGuy's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Weighless360's Blog

I am losing half of me. Join me on my journey. It will be quite entertaining!

fim1ur2

Just another WordPress.com site

Circle B Ranch

Fresh From the Ozarks...

Visions of Italy - Tuscany destination guides, Tuscany attractions

Images and text are Copyrighted by Vacations-Abroad.com

dfwneighbor

Just another WordPress.com site

Fix and Flippers

Private Loan Funding & Off Market Assets

My Why is Your Why

Find Your "WHY"

Eye Pieces

"Who isn't afraid of extra attention"

marykoster

Independent Consultant, Rodan and Fields Dermatologists

It Is A Social World

Integrating Social Media Into Your Business

Transition Marketing Services

Our Place For Discussing Small Business Marketing & Branding

WINNING IDEAS - Tien Wong's Blog

On Leadership and Hypergrowth in the Entrepreneurial Economy

Freshly Pressed: Editors' Picks

Great reads from across WordPress.com, updated daily.

Alkadalal's Weblog

It is all about Internet Marketing and Social Networking.

